Abbotsford Public School logo

Abbotsford Public School

Abbotsford Public School

An innovative and inclusive learning space

Telephone02 9713 6220

School organisation

Our school is organised in four key stage groups based on the NSW Department of Education and Training's Curriculum framework:

  • Early Stage 1 (Kindergarten)
  • Stage 1 (Year 1 & 2)
  • Stage 2 (Year 3 & 4)
  • Stage 3 (Year 5 & 6)  

Classes are organised as parallel classes (mixed ability) rather than streamed classes (A class, B class, C class)

Multi-age (composite classes) are found across the school according to the numbers enrolled in each stage.

Key learning areas

There are six key learning areas in the K-6 curriculum

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science & Technology
  • History & Geography
  • Creative and Practical Arts
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education

Important perspectives at our school are

  • Information and Communications Technologies (ICT)
  • Multicultural Education
  • Aboriginal Education
  • Environmental Education

These perspectives are not separate subjects but are integrated with the key learning areas.